Pinspiration

4 Apr

Today is all about inspiration.  You already know that I love me some pinterest, so you can guess where most of my inspiration for our house comes from.  So let’s get right to it so you can see the parts of our house that we are most excited about…

First up…the stairs:

This is an idea of what our stairs will look like in our foyer.  Unfortunately, they will not be so grand and will definitely not have that sweet window seat (I mean how cool is that??).  We love stairs with landings like that one three steps up and we also love the square newel posts, although ours will not be that big.  You get the idea.

Next up…Dining Room:

Across from the stairs is the dining room.  We love craftsman bungalows so a lot of things in our house will have that influence.  From the picture above we want to recreate the half-walls with columns (possibly with built in cabinets, but we will have to see about that).  By the way, how gorgeous are those front doors??

Next…Fireplace:

I just love this fireplace, don’t you?  The stacked stone, the built-ins, the square windows on either side and the moldings under the mantle.  I’m really excited about seeing this come to fruition.

One of my favorite parts…The Banquette:

Come on…that is amazing.  Ours will be tucked away in a little nook so it won’t be quite that open to the kitchen and there probably won’t be room for chairs on the other side of the table, but there will be a built in bench with cushions and lots of fun pillows and a corner of windows letting in lots of light.  I know that was a run on sentence, but there is so much good stuff in it I don’t even care!

Mud Room:

We are going to have a small mudroom right inside the garage before you enter the kitchen.  This was the perfect spot for the lockers I have been lusting over for years.  It will be the perfect spot for hubs’ giant lunch box he takes to work every day, as well as my purse and our coats, keys, etc.  Our lockers won’t be that large and I think we will only have room for 3, but I am excited none-the-less.

Finally…the kitchen:

Again, this is for inspiration purposes only.  However there are a few similarities like:  dark hardwood floors, white cabinets, hood over range, island with farmhouse sink, grey walls, and some pops of color possibly similar to the color scheme below:

I just love the soft, bright colors.  This will carry over to our living room as well since it’s all open.

And…just for fun:

I have been loving this chandelier from West Elm for years.  I’m hoping to be able to put it in the dining room.

And speaking of things I’m dying to get….

How beautiful is that chair from Crate and Barrel?! It would be so perfect with a bright colored pillow in say, I don’t know, yellow!  I want it, please.  It would be the perfect addition to our living room.  I think we need 2!

Anyways, I hope that gives everyone a better idea of what our house will look like.  All of the above pictures can be found on my pinterest boards home decor and room inspiration.

I’ll try to post the progress on our house so far later this week.  We are taking a picture each week to track the process.  However, they started a few weeks ago so we have some catching up to do.

2 Responses to “Pinspiration”

  1. Alaina Bissett April 17, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    Whitney and Dylan,

    Congrats on the new house! I can’t wait to see the development and how it progresses into your dream home!

    Warmly,

    Alaina

    • whitphelps April 17, 2012 at 11:12 am #

      Thanks Alaina…we can’t wait either!! 🙂 Miss you all!

Leave a Reply

